Thomas Jefferson inherited 4,819 acres of land and 11 enslaved men, women, and children at Poplar Forest through his father-in-law, John Wayles in 1773. The property’s name, which predates Jefferson’s ownership, reflects the forest that once grew here. Several stately poplars in the front of the home welcome visitors today.
Poplar Forest is open daily (10 a.m. to 5 p.m.) from March 15 through December 30 for docent-guided or self-guided tours. Docent-guided tours are currently offered four times daily as docents are available. Masks are recommended for all visitors regardless of vaccination status in buildings and on tour. Open for Winter Weekends from mid-January to mid-March.
Designated a National Historic Landmark, Thomas Jefferson’s Poplar Forest is an award-winning historic restoration in progress, nominated as a UNESCO World Heritage Site. Visiting Poplar Forest offers a unique opportunity to hear the stories of Jefferson's family, the free and enslaved craftsmen who built the historic masterpiece, and the enslaved people who lived and labored on the plantation. Come explore the world of Thomas Jefferson at his most private retreat.
Poplar Forest Visitor Information
Use Website Contact Page
1776 Poplar Forest Drive, Lynchburg, VA 24502, USA